Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council    

Session Hall

Secretariat Building , KAAC, Diphu

                The United Mikir and North Cachar Hills District was formed on 17th November, 1951 vide Government Notification No. T.A.D./R 31/50/204 dated 3rd November, 1951. The District was formed by combining partially excluded areas of Nagaon and erstwhile Sivasagar (Mikir Hills Tract), Block-I and Block-II of United Khasi and Jaintia Hills District and North Cachar Hills (excluded area) Sub-Division of Cachar District, on the recommendation of Commission appointed for the purpose vide Notification No.TAD/R/31/50, dtd. 03.10.1950. Historically this area was administered by British a bit differently, in the sense that Govt. of India Act, 1919 classified these areas as Backward Tract and Govt. of India Act, 1935 classified them as excluded and partially excluded areas. After independence, Constitution of India also maintained the special status by way of provisions contained in Sixth Schedule. The district of United Mikir and North Cachar Hills district was bifurcated into two separate districts under banner as "Mikir Hills" and North Cachar Hills district in the year 1970. The Mikir Hill district was again rechristened as "Karbi Anglong District" w.e.f. the 14th October'1976 vide Govt. Notification No. TAD/R/115/74/47 Dtd. 14-10-1976. Thus Karbi Anglong came into being as a full fledged separate district in the map of Assam with its Head quarter at Diphu. The district enjoys autonomy under the provision of Sixth Schedule of the Indian Constitution. It is the Largest district of Assam with a total geographical area of 10, 434 Sq. Kilometer. The Karbi Anglong District  is situated in the central  part of Assam. It is bounded by  Golaghat district in the east, Meghalaya and Morigaon district in  the west, Nagaon and Golaghat district in the north and N.C. Hills district and Nagaland in the south. The district with dense tropical forest covered hills and flat plains is situated  between 250 33'   N to 26035'  N Latitude and 92010'  to 93050'  E Longitude.

                The Karbi and Dimasa areas came to be ruled by their own District Councils. Thus came into existence the North Cachar Hills District Council on 29th April, 1952 and the Mikir Hills District Council on 23rd June, 1952. Both the District Councils were inaugurated by the then Chief Minister of Assam Bishnuram Medhi.

                The Mikir Hills district was again changed into Karbi Anglong vide Govt. Notification No. T.A.D./4/115/74 dated 14.10.1976. Henceforth the Council came to be called Karbi Anglong District Council.

                With the vigorously changed political development in early 95ís under aegis of ASDC/KSA/DSU/NCHSF/KNCA the Karbi Anglong District Council was renamed as the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council by an Act of Parliament by incorporating the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution (Amendment) Act, 1995 (42 of 1995) to the Constitution of India granting greater Autonomy to the Council vide Govt. Notification No. HAD.57/95/63-64, dtd. 29.06.1995, entrusted 30 (thirty) more department to Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council.

Departments under the Administrative Control of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council

Entrusted Subjects:

1. Industry
2. Animal Husbandry & Veterinary 
3. Forest
4. Agriculture
5. P.W.D.
6. Sericulture
7. Education  : a) Primary Education upto the level of Higher Secondary Education.
                     b) Adult Education
8. Cultural Affairs
9. Soil Conservation 
10. Co-operation
11. Fisheries 
12. Panchayat & Rural Development including DRDA. 
13. Handloom & Textile 
14. Health & family Welfare 
15. Public Health Engineering
16. Irrigation  
17. Social Welfare
18. Flood Control 
19. Sports & Youth Welfare 
20. Weight & Measures
21. Food & Civil Supplies 
22. Town & Country Planning 
23. College Education (General) , Including Library Services , District Museum and Archaeology 
24. Land Reforms 
25. Publicity / Public Relation
26. Printing & Stationery
27. Tourism 
28. Transport 
29. Excise 
30. Finance including Sales Tax on purchase of goods other than Newspapers , Excise, Professional Tax.

Inherent subjects of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council :

                The Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council consists of  30 ( thirty) members, 26 (Twenty Six)   of whom are to be elected and the four nominated  with a view to provide representation to the minorities who constitute a considerable proportion of the total population of the sub-division. The following are the 26 ( Twenty Six) constituencies from which members are elected to the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council.



Name of the Constituency
Under Diphu Sub-Divn. Under Bokajan Sub-Divn. Under Hamren Sub-Divn.


 Socheng Dhenta





















 Bithung Rengthema
















            The tenure of the Autonomous council is for five years unless it is dissolved earlier. The Autonomous Council has a Chairman and a Deputy Chairman who are elected by the members of the Council in accordance with the provisions of the Assam Autonomous Districts (Constitution of District Councils) Rules,1951.The Deputy Commissioner functions as the Returning Officer in respect of the elections to Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council.

Paragraph 16 of the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India empowers the Governor of Assam to dissolve   the Autonomous Council  on some specific grounds stated below:

        (a) When the Commission appointed to enquire into the administration recommends for the dissolution ;

        (b) When the Governor is satisfied that the administration of the Council can not be carried on in accordance with the provision of Sixth Schedule ;

        (c) After dissolution, the Governor may direct for a fresh general election or reconstitution of the Council. Pending the holding of the general election or the reconstitution, the Governor himself or by person or body authorised by him shall administer the affairs of the Council. But the period of dissolution should be confined to 6(six) months which can subsequently be extended for another period not exceeding 6(six) months.

        There is an executive Committee of the Autonomous Council  headed by the Chief Executive Member in addition to a number of members not exceeding one third of the total number of members of the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council who are appointed by the Governor of Assam as  Executive Member    on the advice of the Chief Executive Member. But the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman are not eligible to hold office either as Chief Executive Member or as a Member of the Executive Committee. The Executive committee formulates policy decisions besides discharging of day to day functioning and matters of the council. The provision of holding Council Session headed by its Chairman and is also enshrined in the constitution to discuss and consider Acts, Bills, Policy etc. formulated by the Executive Committee of Council. Almost all Development departments within its jurisdiction are controlled by the KAAC authority.

      In accordance with the provisions laid down in the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India the functions and powers of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council can be divided under three main heads- Legislative, Executive and Judiciary.